Make your own free website on
Latest News


Latest News

Your latest news for local speedways and drivers.



Owner/Promoter of the Hagerstown Speedway Frank Plessinger announced today that an agreement has been reached with the Stacker 2 Xtreme Dirtcar Series to sanction one of the speedways most premier event, the 9th Annual Silver Cup Nationals on Friday night, June 4th. The Hoosier Tire late model sportsman will be include on this Friday night special.

This will change the schedule some, but thats part of the business. Saturday June 5th Student Night event will NOT include the Late Models that night at Hagerstown Speedway. The Friday July 23rd date on the schedule will now be an OPEN date.

"I am pleased that the Xtreme Dirtcar Series is returning to the Hagerstown Speedway," said Promoter Plessinger. "We were the first track in the northeast to have a Xtreme (then Hav-A-Tampa) sanctioned race and they have always been a great group to work with. They have always brought many of the best late model drivers in the country to Hagerstown and I am sure this season they will do the same. The fans are excited that we now have this exciting group of drivers on our schedule again this year."

The 50-lap Stacker 2 Xtreme Dirtcar Series Maryland Silver Cup National will pay $10,000 to the winner and is part of three consecutive action packed nights at the Speedway. On Thursday night, June 3rd, there will be three rings of action under the Big Top when the Kelly Miller Brothers Circus makes its annual visit to the speedway for the Western Maryland Troopers Association. Friday night, the Stacker 2 Xtreme Dirtcar Series will take center stage and on Saturday night, it will be Student Night where all students 17 and under will be admitted free with proper ID. The three car program on Saturday will feature the Hoosier Tires late model sportsman, Ernies Salvage Yard pure stocks and the 30-car-30-lap enduro dash.

Some of the drivers expected to invade the half-mile oval include Jimmy Mars, Davey Johnson, Donnie Moran, John Mason, Don ONeal, Brian Birkhofer, Earl Pearson, Matt Miller, Ray Cook, Steve Shaver and more.

Past winners of the Silver Cup Nationals include Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, TN, 1995-1996-2003; Billy Moyer of Batesville, AR,1997; Rodney Franklin of White Post, VA, 1998; Gary Stuhler of Greencastle, PA, 2000; Chub Frank of Sugar Grove, PA, 2001; and Randy Korte of Highland, IL, 2002.

For additional information, contact the speedway office at 301-582-0640. The Hagerstown Speedway is located on U.S. Rt. 40, six miles west of Hagerstown, MD.